Archive for November 23rd, 2008

Articles

Mentorship classes

In Uncategorized on November 23, 2008 by alannapollock

So a long time ago we were supposed to make a post about the classes we were going to mentor and forgot to do it and I know it’s late into the semester now but I figure it would be good to still do it.

 

The class I spend most of my time blogging on is Eldon Germann’s ELA 10B class. This class has been spending their time focusing on the abnormal things in life and they have been doing researching projects as well as writing narrative stories on the topic that they chose. The students stories are very interesting and they have wrote about things like ghosts, vampires, and even haunted houses. It is really neat to read their stories and talk with them about them.

 

The second class i spent some time on was Mrs. McLeod and Mrs. Ross’s 2nd grade students. This class hasn’t really posted a lot of new content on that often, but it was really neat to read the stories of the students past experiences. It was really neat to read them because it allowed me to think back on when I was little and all of the things that made me happy.

 

All in all, i have been having a pretty good time mentoring my classes, and I enjoy getting feed back from them and I enjoy giving them my input on the questions they have.

Articles

The joys of being from a Ukrainian Background

In Uncategorized on November 23, 2008 by alannapollock

 We all know that Ukraine is famous for many food dishes, and one of the bigger ones being perogies or in Ukrainian pyroghy. I come from a family that I would say is fairly Ukrainian. I mean being in Canada now they don’t follow all of the customs, but we do follow a few traditions. Now to get on with my story. My grandma makes tons of perogies and cabbage rolls for our family Christmas supper so this past weekend me and my mom went out to my grandparents farm to help make the perogies. When I first walked into my grandma’s house and saw the big bowl of potatoes and the massive ball of dough I thought we were going to be there forever. We did though finish in about 6 hours, which was still pretty long. This was the first year I actually helped out with the perogies and I have to say it turned out to be a ton of fun. I wasn’t very good at it at the start, but I eventually was doing pretty well. I don’t know for sure if learning how to make perogies was a good idea because that means I’m going to have to help out every year lol, but I guess one day a year making perogies won’t be that bad and it is one of the joys of being from a Ukrainian family.

100_1852